This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin 8 Lite on old Dell Inspiron 1100

a_balding_man

Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:35:21 pm

Hello Zorin

I'm new to Linux, but have tried out a lot of distro's and like this one the best.
I'd like to be able to get a couple issues sorted out and would greatly appreciate some guidance.

The OS installs and runs very nicely but I cannot get my network cards working. I know this is an older PC, but it's not dead so I am trying to use it and ditch MS Windows.

Here are the cards:

02:01.0 Broadcom BCM4401 100Base -T (Rev 01)
02:04.0 Texas Instruments PCI1510 PC Card cardbus controller (PMCIA slot)

I've tried a bunch of stuff for the wlan (ndiswrapper and using the additional wireless drivers function)
and not having any luck. It can see the network but will not connect.

The wired does not connect. I downloaded a package from Broadcom and just cannot get that to install either.

I do have the original CD for the wlan and copied over the .inf but I had issues there as well.

I hope I'm posting this in the correct forum - I feel like I've been everywhere but in a circular pattern....
Any takers?
Thanks

Swarfendor437

Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:57:36 pm

Hi and Welcome to Zorin! :D I am currently not running Lite so will hope Wolfman/madvinegar/Gizmuntu will be able to assist! :D

botcrusher

Sat Apr 19, 2014 3:23:15 am

Unless I am strongly mistaken, light is simply a stripped down zorin using the LXDE desktop, you should be able to add the appropriate Ti / Broadcom drivers from software center or synaptic by conducting a search
I'm not staff so please don't shoot me if what I'm saying is incorrect.

Wolfman

Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:36:38 am

Hi,

as "botchrusher" said, the WiFI/network drivers should be on the Zorin disk?. Is networking enabled correctly?.