This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Hard drive mounting problem

emtsmith99

Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:17:55 pm

Hello. I am having trouble periodically with my hard drives mounting. couple of problems....
1. sometimes when i plug in an external hard drive, it will not mount it. then other times it will.
2 i have several hard drives mounted inside the computer, but if i shutdown the computer and bring it back up, Zorin will not mount the hard drives other than the one the system is loaded on.

can anyone help! i am a newbie and trying to figure this stuff out. thanks for any help!

emtsmith99

Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:20:56 pm

also, if i shutdown several different times, it may or may not show up again. The computer i am using is a new build. all hard drives were recognized fine at first and now not so much. There are three internal hard drive:
1. 1tb with zorin loaded on it
2. 1tb
3. 2tb
4. external 2tb

Swarfendor437

Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:10:19 pm

i don't know about 'cumulative' Terabyte totals, but no GNU/Linux system can see beyond 2 TB! ;)

Wolfman

Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:04:35 pm

Hi,

open dconf editor and check these settings:

Stop/Start Media Auto Mounting:
Dconf Editor > Org > Gnome > Desktop > Media-Handling > Automount/Automount-open/Autorun Never

If it isn't installed, open a terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t) and paste the following command:

Code:
sudo apt-get install dconf-tools

emtsmith99

Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:39:29 pm

Wolfman,