This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

WinXp-Zorn 8 dualboot Fail

Daveman

Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:26:57 am

Hello everyone. I hope you are doing well. I'm still a newb on this stuff.
I hope I didnt ruin my XP - I intended to keep it and just dual boot between XP and Zorin. Zorin seems to work well, but the XP not so much.
The boot loader I guess is fried. I get the normal choice for Zorin or XP but when I select Windows XP I end up with a black screen
Is there any way to fix this? I have very important files on XP i should have backed up (shoulda, coulda, woulda) I really dont want to lose.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance
~Dave

* Zorin 64 bit
* Windows XP 32bit
* AMD Athlon II 3.0ghz dual core
* 2GB DDR System Ram

Wolfman

Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:37:52 am

Hi Dave,

firstly, you can drag your Windows files (copy & paste) them over from the Windows partition(s) no problem assuming you haven't nuked the Windows partitions.

Open your home folder (Nautilus) and you will see a list of locations and devices on the left, your windows partition will have the name of your PC make like Acer or Compaq, you just need to click on that name and mount the Windows partitions and save your stuff to your Zorin OS home folder!.
COMPAQ_005.jpg

You can try repairing the bootloader (Grub) with this terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t) command:

Code:
sudo update-grub

and restart your PC and see if that fixes the boot problem, you can also download a boot repair disk here and create a bootable repair disk for Linux/Windows:

http://sourceforge.net/p/boot-repair/home/Home/

Let us know if this helps. :D

Daveman

Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:35:35 pm

Okay - so far everything is a fail. I used the code you gave me...,
Code:
sudo update-grub