This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Softwae Update Causes Chrome Shortcut to Break

nobloat

Mon May 05, 2014 3:58:32 am

In Zorin 8, in the admin account (the one created during Zorin install with a password), I did a security and software apps update for, Chrome, and all the apps shown by default.
After the update the database for one of my apps (KeePass2) disappeared.
Before the update the Keepass database was in a sub-directory in my Home directory.
Also, the Chrome shortcut in my Guest account stopped working (still works in the Admin account).
I'm guessing that Chrome is still available in the Guest account, and the original path to Chrome somehow changed when I updated?
Why the KeePass database disappeared is a mystery.
The database for Keepass might still be there but I'm not experienced enough to do a Linux search of the entire install.
Your thoughts?

John

P.S. I like Zorin so much that I decided to install it on a second PC that runs Windows-XP.
I did the dual boot install so that I can still run my legacy XP apps, but no longer go on the Internet with XP

Wolfman

Tue May 06, 2014 5:39:21 am

Hi,

open a terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t) and run this command:

Code:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade -f

It might be a case of missing dependencies?, see also:

Restart after running command!.

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

nobloat

Wed May 07, 2014 4:13:47 am

Wolfman,