This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Deleting files/app

c980t

Tue May 06, 2014 12:39:29 am

I'm sure this has been answered before, but being a newbie I'm confused. When removing programs, they don't go to the trash can. Then I am warned I'm down to only 135MB, but I don't know how to change this. Youtube shows confusing terminal entries to delete files. There has to be an easier way & I would sure appreciate any help. Thank you

Swarfendor437

Tue May 06, 2014 9:04:22 pm

Hi, and welcome! :D Could you be a bit more specific? You don't need to use the command line to remove stuff you don't want - you can use 'Software Center/re' or 'Synaptic Package Manager' - provided that is where you installed from in the first place!

If you installed 'unsupported 3rd party software' then it is likely to need the 'purge' or 'autoremove' command which should remove all files associated with that application.

Hope this helps! :D

c980t

Mon May 12, 2014 2:21:29 pm

Hello,
I installed Zorin 8 as dual boot and accepted the suggested partitions. I have an HP laptop with two hard drives. For some strange reason Zorin installed onto the "D" drive. After installation I removed some of the installed apps using the Software Center. When I ran the updates I received a message that I only had 135mb available. The trash can was empty, so the files must still be on the drive. Now I am wondering if I should have somehow forced the install to the "C" drive where there is more available space. Being new to Linux I am a little confused. I do appreciate any help and really like the Zorin OS, especially since Microsoft does not support the Windows XT that came installed on the laptop. Thanks again.

Swarfendor437

Mon May 12, 2014 7:39:33 pm