This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(CLOSED) Dual Monitor problems

Zak

Sat May 10, 2014 6:08:22 pm

Hello - the support on this forum is incredible. I just searched through topics regarding dual monitors and read so many posts that helped other users that I gave me hope that I might prevail on this problem.

I am very new to Linux, migrated from XP. Finding my way around, but slowly. I have installed a second video card (8400gs) and am having difficulties with getting it to work. The monitor acts as if it isn't plugged in to the computer.

When I do lcspi, it tells me "05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation G98 [GeForce 8400 GS Rev. 2] (rev a1)".

I have purged Nvidia and installed Nvidia-current.

I have NVIDIA X Server Settings in my menu, but it doesn't show much (just Application Profiles and nvidia-settings Configuration).

When I look at System Tools - Settings - display, it shows only 1 monitor. The switch is in the ON position and I can't change it to OFF. When I click Detect Displays, the button depresses, but nothing happens.

I tried many different purges, installs, and removes. My most current set of steps was from here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2081649. The driver I am trying to install is NVIDIA-Linux-x86-331.67.run. Every time I try to install, it says it can't due to Nouveau.

I saw lots of references to this site https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-x-swat/+archive/x-updates, but got confused as to what to do with the info and which file to get.

The monitor that is working is connected to the card that came with the computer and is listed as 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV370 [Radeon X300].