This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

A little advice for a new boy!

Kelvin

Mon May 12, 2014 11:03:00 am

Hi all,

As a Windows user until now, I am new to the world of Linux/Ubuntu and I would really appreciate some advice and hand holding please.

I am looking to reinvigorate my laptop now that Windows XP has come the end of its (supported) life without spending a fortune.

Of all the online searching I have done I have been directed towards Zorin 8. I tried more times than I can bear to remember to download and burn to disc but this consistently failed so I have purchased the disc direct.

Using the OS live from the DVD I like the system and would like to use it but reading forums it appears to me that this version will not be supportd beyond the summer, therefore I can see little advanatage to me in installing it.

Can any one give me advice on a similar OS that will have long term support?

Additionally with regard to installation which would be considered the best route, full install or dual boot? Being new to this I am uncertain of the pitfalls or advantages of each option.

Any help gratefully received, thanks.

Wolfman

Mon May 12, 2014 11:31:03 am

Hi,

if you purchased Zorin 8, you will need to contact the devs for an upgrade to version 9 when it becomes available!.

http://www.zorin-os.com/contacts.html

An install is better than Live CD and you can keep your data if you follow this guide when doing a new install of version 9:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4848

To dual boot, see the full partitioning guide:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2601

Post any further questions you have!. :D

Linx

Fri May 16, 2014 9:31:47 pm