This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

newbie here - netflix not working well in zorin 8

tmak

Mon May 12, 2014 8:49:07 pm

Hi,

very very beginner here and just recently dual booted my old xp machine and now running zorin os 8 and it has been good except i can't seem to get netflix working right - i tried the desktop method shown here on this forum and on youtube - but the desktop netflix icon doesn't do anything - then i tried another way using a download of "pipelight" and that allowed me to open netflix in chrome but the playback is choppy and video and audio get out of sync. any ideas? anyone able to get netflix to work well in zorin 8?

I want to make zorin my only operating system but i use netflix alot and would hate to give it up on my laptop.

Thanks.

j

Wolfman

Tue May 13, 2014 5:18:55 am

Hi,

have you done a full system update?, do that first with this terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t) command and reastart:

Code:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade -f

See also:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

Have you installed your graphics card drivers?, paste this command in a terminal if you aren't sure and post the feedback here so we can see:

Code:
lspci

Swarfendor437

Tue May 13, 2014 11:47:22 am

Also checkout the official project page on launchpad:

https://launchpad.net/netflix-desktop

Ineteresting article here:

http://www.ubuntuask.com/q/answers-just ... 19255.html

tmak

Tue May 13, 2014 4:43:51 pm

Hello,

again, thanks for the replies - and i tried all the suggestions but still no dice - the netflix desktop icon still doesn't open and when i play from chrome video slows and audio becomes unsynced with video - any ideas?

thanks

j

Wolfman

Tue May 13, 2014 5:01:04 pm

Hi,

have you installed the package "netfiix-desktop"?, in a terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t):

Code: