This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] admin logIn not present

ahimsa

Wed May 14, 2014 4:49:02 pm

Hello - This is my first post here. I just finished installing zorin on an old desktop and for the first time installing and using it. I have a few weeks experience with linux but I'm still a beginner. ..... My question is this; After installing zorin the os is only allowing me to login as "Guest". It shows my user name and when I click on "Guest" it merely changes to a different graphic display for Guest log in with no option for logging in as administrator. I could use some help. Thanks.

ahimsa

Wed May 14, 2014 5:13:02 pm

I'm a newbie to zorin and linux. After installing zorin when I attempt to login I am only being presented with my user name and the option to sign in as "Guest" requiring password. Did I do something wrong with the installation? When I tried what 'Wolfman' suggests by clicking on "Guest" to change the log in to "administrator", the login screen/graphic changes yet remains with my user name and only the option to login as "Guest". How do I log in as administator?

Swarfendor437

Wed May 14, 2014 7:12:53 pm

Hi ahimsa, and welcome to the Zorin forum!

Please see Wolfman's advisory on your issue here:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7401 :D

Swarfendor437

Wed May 14, 2014 7:19:43 pm

OK, so I see you followed wolfman's guide! If not clear, do this. Boot the machine and when you get to the login screen:

1. Press the 'down arrow' (cursor keys) to show 'Guest'

2. Press the 'up arrow' (cursor keys) to select your user account you created when installing Zorin.