This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[CLOSED] Cannot set permissions for external usb harddrive

AlanNancyB

Thu May 15, 2014 4:03:46 pm

]Zorin, I love it,"Most of the time" I have a Dell Poweredge 200 with Zorin 8 installed. I have 4 large usb drives, 2 to 3 TB which I want to share to my other computers running Zorin 8. I plan on using this Zorin box as just a server to share these external drives. however, I have tried everything I could find on line to set up permissions and sharing of these drives with no success. When I log onto one of these drives and go to permissions, and try to change to read and write, it bounces back to read only, and when I set up a share of the folder, it shows up on onther computers but is not accessable. I'm fairly new with Zorin, and would appreicate any help that anyone would be willing to share. Thanks

Swarfendor437

Thu May 15, 2014 10:05:55 pm

Hi there, the first problem will be your 3 Tb drives - they aren't supported by GNU/Linux distributions ... period! The maximum supported size is 2 Tb. Have you installed Samba and implemented CIFS within it?

For starters, check this article out:

http://travelinlibrarian.info/2013/05/h ... s-network/

Wolfman

Fri May 16, 2014 12:38:23 pm

AlanNancyB

Sat May 17, 2014 5:27:56 pm

One drive is a 3 tb divided into 3 partitions of 1 tb each. Can I make it 1 partition with 2 tb and leave the rest un-allocated? I am using samba. Also, If i put these back on the windows machine, copied everything off to the 3 tb, re-partitioned the 2 tb drives to ext4, and copied everything back to them, and moved them back to the Zorin box, would this be easier to set up the shares?

Also, How do I set up an avatar and the slogan at the bottom of the page on this forum?

Wolfman

Sun May 18, 2014 4:35:10 am

Hi,