This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Few quick questions

rocky123xo

Fri May 16, 2014 9:47:27 pm

Hi there.
I just stumbled across Zorin, and having never (ever) used a desktop Linux distribution before (I run multiple file servers using Ubuntu Server), I figured I would give it a try. I installed it as a dual boot on my Windows 7 laptop.
I have already fallen in love with the distro. It is exceptional.
However, I have a few questions. I am an IT Tech, but obviously only for Windows machines.
My first was, is it possible to disable workspaces 2-4? (The "cube" function) I know it is easy enough to only use one, but it bothers me knowing that there are 3 others being unused. Are they possible to hide or disable?
My next question was regarding the guest account. I followed a previous answer, which involved appending the line guest-account=false (or something of that nature) to the zorin greeter file, yet the guest account option is still there. Is there an easier way to disable it?

Thanks in advance for the help and this amazing distro!

Wolfman

Sat May 17, 2014 6:39:14 am

Hi,

for disabling guest account, see:

http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/201 ... in-screen/

For number of desktops, open Compiz Settings Manager > General > Desktop Size > Number of desktops
CompizConfig Settings Manager_016.jpg

Anonymous

Sat May 17, 2014 7:34:16 am

Hi

It is very easy to use and get benefit of 4 work spaces. Here is an example of how it can be used for ie. making a document with pictures and having same time the iStart open for web quick launch.

Workspaces can be easy switched using "Cube" or adding the "Shiny Switcher" from the AWN applets to the bottom panel as seen from the following pictures.

Cube.png

In the desktop one you can have the quick launch to web sites or web applications.