This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Screen freezing on Zorin lite 6

partingshot

Mon May 19, 2014 1:59:02 am

A newbie here, and thanks in advance for the help. I have used Linux Mint on a laptop with no issues. Have an old netbook, and encountered the same problem with Mint, Linux lite, and to a lesser degree, Zorin 6 lite. The former two would simply not function. The cursor could be moved, but clicking generated no response. I can get Zorin 6 lite to work if I boot up in recovery mode, then tell it to resume normal boot. Otherwise, there is the same problem. Desktop does not fully load, or if it does, the cursor moves, but does not function. I have updated everything via Synaptic. Network card works, so I am left believing this is a graphics card issue. Went through accessories to search for additional drivers, and nothing was found. I believe the netbook has an ATI Radeon display. Don't mind going through recovery mode at boot up if needed, as it works fine thereafter, but if there is a reasonable fix then I would be most appreciative.

Thanks again.

partingshot

Wolfman

Mon May 19, 2014 5:38:07 am

Hi,

run DPKG per the update guide and see if the problem is still there when you reboot:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2247

Here is a guide for AMD/ATI but READ IT CAREFULLY!:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6951

You are most likely better off with the onboard drivers that you already have but here is the link about Radeon drivers:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonDriver

Swarfendor437

Mon May 19, 2014 11:16:39 am

Rewind please! :D

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5449

Also could you upload a screenshot of your partitioning using 'GParted' and 'Screenshot' and upload to here please.

Thanks! ;)

partingshot

Sun May 25, 2014 1:51:03 am