This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

32 vs 64 bit

acz

Mon May 26, 2014 9:30:50 pm

I am brand new to linux and zorin, but would like to experiment with it, with the hope of leaving windows behind and becoming a real linux user.

Presently we have one older Thinkpad T41p laptop running 32-bit windows XP on a Pentium M CPU with 1.5 GB of RAM,

and a newer Thinkpad T61 running 64-bit Windows 7 Pro, on an Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 CPU with 4GB of RAM.

So, I just downloaded the zorin-os-8.1-core-32.iso and will try to install that on to a bootable USB stick,
using the Universal-USB-Installer-1.9.5.2.exe.

I got the 32-bit version because I am not sure if the older machine can run a 64-bit OS.
Would there be a significant performance difference between the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Zorin?

Would I be able to use that same stick on either of the laptops?
In other words, as I learn more, will I be able to use the stick as a self-contained but portable operating environment?

Thank you for any assistance or suggestions.

Swarfendor437

Mon May 26, 2014 11:20:13 pm

Hi and Welcome to the Zorin forum! :D I don't think 64-bit is going to run on the older machine as it probably has 32-bit XP because its processor will be 32-bit - you can only put 64-bit OS's on machines that have 64-bit processors, but you can put 32-bit OS's on either 32-bit or 64-bit processor enabled devices.

If you got the 32-bit OS that should run fine on either machine, but with the older one you might be better running Zorin Lite - but bear in mind that Zorin 8 and Zorin 8 Lite will come to end-of-life just like Ubuntu 13.10 will at end of July this year when Zorin 9 should be out with 5 years support, just like Ubuntu 14.04 on which it will be based.