This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Broken Polish language? [Newbie]

Dastingo

Thu Jun 19, 2014 9:24:41 pm

Hello folks!
I am very fresh to Linux systems, and I've decided to get myself Zorin OS 8 Gaming. I'd like to explore this system a little bit, I'm slowly getting use to the new interface and such stuff.
However, one thing is very annoying. On my old PC (it's about 10-12 years old) I've managed to install Lubuntu to make it work quite nice and with polish language. Here, I have US english, I cannot change it (viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1699&p=5927#p5927 this topic wasn't helpful, nothing worked). It seems like there is no link to Polish version or something like that. I also can't use polish signs, and this is really damaging for my job (I am an article writer, thus I have to use Win7 for now). I've installed Zorin on my external hard drive and it works quite well except for some things (Still a noob, I'm trying to make windows stuff working on Zorin). I'll be grateful for helping me to switch language to Polish :)

Howdy!

Swarfendor437

Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:41:41 pm

dzień dobry! :D

Firstly I would update the Language Settings - this should show up shortly after installation when you click on 'Languages' in 'System Settings'. So you followed Wolfman's guide to the letter and it did not work at all?

Dastingo

Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:35:36 am

After some restarts and messing with every single possible option, After another restart I've managed to change it finally, but I don't really know what was the issue :D. Probably I did something wrong with Wolf's guide earlier.

However, I am encountering more problems of another nature.

1.Whenever I have any icon on my desktop (Like War Thunder launched by Wine), when I try to move it, it simply disappears... I have no idea why is that so.