This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[Solved]Black screen after install Zorin OS 8 on desktop

Anonymous

Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:48:39 am

Hi there everyone,

Last night i had some difficulty to install Zorin OS 8 on a desktop with 2GHz processor and 2GB Ram.
But first i may tell that i'm dutch speeking guy, so my Englisch is a bit wrong to make myself clear understandable, sorry for that trouble and i'm new to Linux, so i would be very glad if someone could help me with a step by step aprouch.

So back to the install issue
I wasn't able to start the dvd rom with the live version of Zorin OS 8 and had a black screen which i had resolved by pressing the tab key and entering the following command:
Code:
acpi=off nomodeset

By doing that i was able to install Zorin

But now after installing Zorin OS 8 and restart the computer i've get the splash screen that ask what i wanna do.
When i shoose for Zorin to start i've get the blue screen with the pulserend Zorinlogo, but after that the screen went black and stay's that way.
There is nothing i can do.

Hopfully can someone tell me what to do step by step to be able entring the Zorin OS 8

Swarfendor437

Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:50:42 am

Hi, and Welkom to Zorin! :D

Try adding these additional commands at boot time to the ones you have already tried:

Code:
xforcevesa acpi=off nolapic nomodeset

Anonymous

Mon Jun 23, 2014 2:21:37 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:Hi, and Welkom to Zorin! :D

Try adding these additional commands at boot time to the ones you have already tried:

Code:

Thank you so much for your answer.

However i was not able to adding the commands because i was not knowing how to begin with it.
After some surch on the net with my other computer i found some intresting stuff.