This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Nvidia driver issues

will-b-keeper

Wed Jul 02, 2014 2:51:53 pm

I have been using Linux for about 7 years now and this is the first time I have had to ask for help....may be it is my age!

I came across the mention of Zorin 8 in Linux Format, down loaded it and was blown away. It found my NAS box it found my RAID Array and it just looked so slick.

All was well until I came to set up the twin screen arrangement I wanted. With the standard driver the operating system knew there were two monitors and I could drag a window to the second screen however the second screen was blank and I could not see what I was doing. So I tried to install the Nvidia driver.... Everything I tried would prevent the OS booting much past the splash screen and I was left with a blank screen with a flashing cursor.

Next I tried Zorin 9. Oh it was even better and this time the Nvidia driver installation was built in..Brilliant.....But the same issue. It wont boot after the installation.

Question: Am I missing something or do I have an machine that was just doomed from birth due to an inappropriate selection of hardware?

(ECS Geforce 7050M-M, AMD Phenom 8450, Geforce 9600GT, 4Gb RAM)

Any hints or tips would be gratefully received.

Swarfendor437

Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:41:24 am

Hi, normally, the default that comes with any GNU/Linux these days is the Nouveau experimental driver - can you boot into safe graphics mode and download Nvidia 304 post drivers (theres 304 and 304 post available in additional drivers). I don't have dual-monitors but advise you install X R and R - I hope they include it in the final release as I am aware that other distros have X R and R present by default! :D

will-b-keeper

Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:51:07 pm

Many thanks Swarfendor437