This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Clock on Taskbar

dmcgow

Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:55:56 pm

Hello,
I am new to Zorin, (Switched from Windows XP) and I totally love this OS! Thank You to the developers! I removed the thunderbird email client and wanted the applet with the envelope removed from my taskbar. I went online and ran a command line in terminal that lots of people said would work and it removed the envelope but also removed the clock, calendar, and name from the lower right hand corner. Can anyone help me restore my taskbar to the Zorin default?

Thanks for your help!

Linx

Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:26:51 pm

Do you have the command that you ran in terminal? Might make it a bit easier to find the fix.

you may be able to right click on the bottom right had corner, and then go into preferences and add the clock (not at home so I can't tell you exactly what to click, will update later)

dmcgow

Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:41:01 pm

I ran this:
sudo apt-get remove indicator-messages and
killall unity-panel-service

Thanks!

dmcgow

Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:12:56 pm

I ran Killall unity-panel-service because it is all over the internet that this would fix it but it didn't. When I ran sudo apt-get remove indicator-messages it got rid of everything on the lower right side of the taskbar. I tried to right click the taskbar and add the clock and it didn't work.

Swarfendor437

Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:03:46 pm

Hi, right-clcik on the panel and select 'preferences' - go to the 'Applets' tab and see if you can see a white 'i' in a blue circle on the 'clone panel' at the bottom of the Applets tab - if not there, look for 'indicator3 applet' and drag it to the 'clone panel' at the bottom! :D

Keep us posted! :D

dmcgow

Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:33:31 am

Hi,
I have done this and it does not work.

Swarfendor437