This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Switching Accounts

davehelvey

Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:09:13 pm

I am new to Linux. I am hoping to find something to replace MS Windows software. So far I have been very pleased with Zorin 8. Still learning and have encountered a problem. When machine boots and asks for my password, I enter the password, and machine continues to boot to a "Guest" account, not my account. I try to switch the account, it does not work. It used to go to a "login" screen and ask for a password. I would then put in the password and it would revert back to the Guest account. I have used another Zorin post "How to reset a forgotten password", to attempt to fix this, yet the machine still boots to the Guest account. I again try to switch to my account, and the screen goes dark, then returns to the Guest account. By the way, I don't recall ever setting up a Guest account.

Swarfendor437

Thu Jul 31, 2014 4:12:50 pm

Hi, When you get to the login screen, what happens when you use your cursor arrows - both up and down - should help you switch between guest and your user account. Just be aware that support for Zorin 8 ended a couple of weeks back - like Ubuntu 13.10 on which it was built off - you should look at moving ot Zorin 9 which has 5 years support. ;)

davehelvey

Thu Jul 31, 2014 7:38:06 pm

I had just bought Zorin 8 back in May. What is funny to me, is when I go through the "Grub2" screen to change my password, it accepts the password there, but not when trying to switch users.

Swarfendor437

Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:19:50 pm

Hi, Zorin 8 is no longer supported - it became end-of-life a couple of weeks ago like Ubuntu 13.10 on which it was based. I would PM AZorin and/or zorink to see if you are entitled to a free upgrade to Zorin 9 Ultimate or a discount! :D

Wolfman