This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Help required with forum images...

Mike Walsh

Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:23:12 pm

Hi, everybody.

This may seem like an absolutely STUPID question to most of you regulars.....but I'm at my wit's end here.

How do you add an image to a forum post?

I have no problems at all adding images to the Ubuntu forum....but this one seems very, very different. I've tried 'upload attachment'; I've tried copy and paste; I've tried 'insert image'.....nothing seems to work.

I've been using Zorin for a few months now, starting out with OS 8 Ultimate, and recently installing OS Core 9. I like the distro very much. I occasionally post in the forums; not often, but occasionally I want to add a screenshot, or something similar to a post in order to illustrate something. I've wanted to do this 3 or 4 times over the past few weeks, but I've just given up.....'cos I CANNOT make it work.

I don't understand this business with the BB-code tags, nor about linking to an image on a publicly accessible server... What's THAT all about? (Explanations in clear English, PLEASE..!)

I also don't understand this business (in the FAQ's) about needing to be given permission to upload an image to the board.....please, somebody, put me out of my misery, and tell me.

I've been playing around with these things since the days of the Ark, and have belonged to many forums over the years.....and I have NEVER before had THIS problem. Is this to do with additional layers of security?

Can somebody enlighten an old codger, please?

Regards,

Mike.

SplatOz

Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:46:39 pm