This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Denied Permission / Not the owner

EZingers

Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:46:24 pm

I have been using ZORIN LINUX for the passed 2 to 3 weeks and already think it's better then Windows. But I'm still learning the system. One of the issues I have encountered was with permissions. There are files like "root" and "opt" that won't let me open them and/or don't let me ad or extracted, copy and paste, or really do anything in them. It comes up with a warning dialog that says that I'm not the owner and that I don't have permission. I was watching a video on youtube about local host severs on linux and he just right clicked on the folder and selected "open as administrator".I right clicked on the file and found no such option. I am the only one on this computer. So how do I change this.
Thank You :roll:

Swarfendor437

Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:11:46 pm

Hi, open a terminal (Menu | Accessories | Terminal) and enter:

Code:
gksudo nautilus

See if that helps - if not, open a terminal and navigate to the folder you wish to take control of and enter:

Code:
sudo chown [your username] [name of folder/file]

EZingers

Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:26:35 pm

I tried the first one "gksudo nautilus" and got a message that said "Failed to load module "overlay-scrollbar" Even tried to put the folder name at the end and said that "no folder was found" The 2 folders I'm trying to access is "root" and "opt". You might have to elaborate on how to do this. I am new to Linux so a lot of this is alien to me.

Swarfendor437

Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:52:14 pm

Hi, can I verify which version of Zorin you are using, and whether it is the Core version or the Lite version? :D

EZingers

Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:56:03 pm

It is Zorin 9 Ultimate.

Swarfendor437

Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:09:12 pm