This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Canon printer/scanner - drivers and installation

br1anstorm

Wed Sep 24, 2014 5:50:45 pm

I'm new to Linux and keen to learn. I am running Zorin 6 on a Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop. I have a Canon MP560 "all-in-one" printer/scanner, which has WiFi as well as USB connection options.

I have succeeded in adding it as a network printer by putting its IP address into the System Settings>Hardware>Printers> "Add Printer" dialogue. Zorin found it, found a driver, and I can now get the machine to print.

I have two separate questions:

1) Can someone explain the driver options - or point me to a Linux-beginners site which does? When installing this printer, it appears that the software involved is "CUPS" (a Linux programme...) and that the driver is from the Gutenprint suite of drivers developed for Linux. That's fine, and I can understand and use it. But I notice on various forums a lot of chat about how to find and install Canon's own drivers for Linux. The drivers for my MP560 are available from the Canon Europe site http://www.canon-europe.com/Support/Consumer_Products/products/Fax__Multifunctionals/InkJet/PIXMA_MP_series/PIXMA_MP560.aspx?type=download&language=&os=Linux.
Are these (Gutenprint and Canon) drivers equally-valid options? Is it more complicated to install the Canon one? If I do, will it offer a similar GUI to the standard Canon interface which appears when running Windows? Will it conflict with CUPS/Gutenprint?