This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Partition Deleted - Grub Rescue

DanPerry1808

Tue Oct 28, 2014 8:40:18 pm

After installing the 64 bit version of Zorin OS 9 for my computer on a new partition for dual booting with Windows 7. I soon found that the OS was not for me and I much preferred Windows 7, so as a Linux noob, I attempted to uninstall the OS by deleting the Partition that Zorin was running, reassigned that spare space to my Windows 7 drive (Drive C) and then shut down my computer. upon restart I found that the computer said that the partition could not be found and "Grub rescue>" which I am presuming is a command line. I need to knwo whether or not there is a command that will allow me to tell the computer to boot from the C drive where my Windows installation is instead of going to the no longer there L drive (the drive I deleted that contained Zorin). If this is not possible, then I still have the Windows 7 installation disk but I would then need to know whether my files would be deleted from the C drive if I were to uninstall.

If you could get past ASAP, the that would be brilliant,
Thanks in advance, Daniel

[EDIT] I just tries a set of commands from a youtube video that go like this:
set boot=(hd0,msdos6)
set prefix=(hd0,msdos6)/boot/grub
insmod normal
normal

When I typed in the third line of code it told me to add a ) to the end of it, when I did however it told me that there was no such partition.

Swarfendor437

Wed Oct 29, 2014 1:27:40 pm

Hi, you have deleted your Zorin OS so that last bit referring to YouTube only applies if you have difficulty booting to GNU/Linux. You need to put your Windows 7 CD and do a repair job and choose the bottom option of running a Command Prompt - once you are there enter the following commands:

Code:
bootrec.exe /FixBoot

and

Code: