This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

My Zorin, questions/feedback inqieries

ogplayer

Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:51:30 am

Hello! I am ogplayer, A self taught coder, and I am just recently getting into Web Hosting, server managing/administering, etc and I am starting to monetize my business
About a month or two ago, I foolishly purchased a service from comodo, where their tech was suppose to give my windows 7 desktop a full clean; without ranting more, I will say it didnt end well. The tech dissapeared and my desktop crashed, more than twice. And then I screwed myself by freaking out, and installed ubuntu on my hard drive. which also formatted the hard drive, so I lost all my backup images for windows, etc

Needless to say, I came across Zorin while looking for an OS than is windows 7 basically, extremely happy I found it, making things smoother for my transition to linux, though I do get errors sometimes, usually I assume its because I am a self taught developer, I am currently hosting windows servers with desktop environment access for development purposes. Which brings me to my first issue, remote desktop access. every so often I might connect/disconnect from the RDP, and then suddenly not be able to connect to my servers, like someones blocking ports to mess with me. (probably not lol). I am wondering if there is a more stable RDP viewer client Zorin might use? This is a huge peev for me, I need access to my other desktops for work.

Another thing I am interested in learning about is security. How can Zorin claim No windows viruses? What kind of security does zorin have? Any other info you can give me about security?