This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Zorin 9 Core 64-bit Dropping Wifi, Lenovo G50-30

ThetaBeast

Wed Jan 14, 2015 8:20:05 pm

Hi - guess I 'hi-jacked' an old thread so I'll start over...I am totally a newbie here; got my 88-year old Dad a Lenovo G50-30 laptop 64-bit for X-mas...the dreaded Windows 8.1 ain't gonna work. He's used to XP. Installed Zorin 9 Core 64 bit as dual-boot, things are pretty good but running into the same issue as ted_uk detailed on his Zorin 9 Ultimate in a thread from Aug 2014: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=8204 regarding the wifi dropping but showing still connected, and then working again upon reboot. I have confirmed that I have the rtl8723be wifi chip in this pig. Great solution by madvinegar in that same thread:

'I have found that the correct way to install your driver is to run the following commands:..

CODE: SELECT ALL
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic build-essential git
git clone http://github.com/lwfinger/rtl8723be
cd rtl8723be
git checkout 604aa9058fb9e5bb1cf571c99989d081f8fc8b9
make clean
make
sudo make install
sudo modprobe rtl8723be

Then, if you are experiencing disconnections, in order to prevent the WiFi card from automatically sleeping and halting connection, run the following command:
CODE: SELECT ALL
echo "options rtl8723be fwlps=0" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/rtl8723be.conf

and reboot.'

...only one issue; when I go check out github for rtl8723be, I see this, apparently from Sept 2014: rtl8723be: Remove obsolete files
Use http://github.com/lwfinger/rtlwifi_new.git instead.

Signed-off-by: Larry Finger <Larry.Finger@lwfinger.net>
master
commit 986358bc0b32aea2bb2c041b3547db0dee58b750 1 parent 01b44fd