This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

A specific game launcher freezes the entire OS.

rmrockit

Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:48:51 pm

I've had this problem so far online Zorin and Deepin, which means both uses Compix more than likely. I found in a forum that apparently Compix conflicts with the launcher to a game that I like to play from Windows. This works just fine on Ubuntu, and Mint.

The problem is once the launcher comes up to start the install, it doesn't fully load all it's graphics and the entire computer will freeze up. Which requires me to hard restart my computer myself. I'm new to Linux, but I can assure you this problem is related to the OS or something within the OS conflicting with it, because it works just fine on Mint and Ubuntu.

If someone could please help, I'd appreciate it. I don't know how to make it work, and I really don't wanna use another OS. I was thinking about paying for the Ultimate edition of this, but if it's not going to handle just the 1 game I even bother to play at all, while other ones can, then I can't see a reason to pay for it... unfortunately.

Wolfman

Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:57:57 pm

Hi,

go here and look at the part about playing games with Linux:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2054

Did you do a full system update?:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

What graphics card do you have?.

Paste this terminal command (Ctrl + Alt + t) and copy & paste the results back here please:

Code:
lspci

rmrockit

Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:42:45 pm

@Wolfman

Hello,

Those links weren't very helpful to my situation, but thank you.

Yes I did do a full system update.

My graphics card is an Nvidia GeForce GTX660.

The resultes you requested from pasting that into the terminal are here:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor DRAM Controller (rev 09)