This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) Zorin 9 Lite post installation problems

k2uk

Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:18:15 pm

Hi

Just installed Zorin 9 Lite on an ageing Compaq Presairo V5000.

I have a couple of problems that I can't fix (I'm new to Linux).

1: The WiFi card is not recognised, It has a Broadcom BCM94318MPG chipset. Under Windows the laptop has a push button to turn on/off wireless networking with an LED indicator. Under Zorin this LED will not illuminate when I press the switch.

2: When I shut down the screen turns off but the machine does not turn off even if I leave it alone for over one hour .

Apart from the two mentioned problems the machine work great with Zorin and I look forward to using it once the problems are fixed so any suggestions would be appreciated

Wolfman

Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:48:15 pm

Hi and welcome,

I assume your network cable connection is working, run the updates per the update guide and see if is working after the updates are done, let us know if it helps:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

See also:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4835&p=22914#p22914

You can try using the Additional Drivers Tool in Synaptic!. (See above link)

k2uk

Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:04:22 pm

Wolfman wrote:Hi and welcome,

I assume your network cable connection is working, run the updates per the update guide and see if is working after the updates are done, let us know if it helps:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

See also:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4835&p=22914#p22914

You can try using the Additional Drivers Tool in Synaptic!. (See above link)

Thanks for the support.

To make sure that I had not made a mistake when I installed Zorin 9 Lite I re-installed it and ran the updates as suggested. This made no difference to the WiFi, it still did not work.