This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) no internet audio

Prof1948

Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:59:07 pm

I'm new to Zorin 9 Lite on a 2004 PC. Everything works OK except no audio from internet. I have downloaded VLC and I have audio with audio CD's, I have audio from downloaded MP3 but I can't get any sound from Youtube and such. VLC lists my onboard sound, my Soundblaster card and (when in use) my Saitek wireless speakers. ALSAMIXER also lists all my sound sources but no audio from internet. I've been searching for a solution for the last week and I'm out of ideas. HELP!
Thanks!

Swarfendor437

Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:45:30 pm

Have you updated the OS since installing?

Prof1948

Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:20:24 pm

Yes I had updated but I repeated today using sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get dist-upgrade and still no audio. I have removed my Soundblaster card in case there was a conflict but no change. :!:

Wolfman

Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:23:12 pm

Hi,

go here and install "Paman" per the guide:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4835

Pulse Audio Volume Control > Output:

Volume Control_022.jpg

Also, check "Configuration" to make sure the correct card is being addressed!:

Volume Control_024.jpg

Prof1948

Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:05:21 pm

This forum really rocks...very fast contributions. Thanks!
Pulse audio volume control shows correct source as "Built-in Audio Digital Stereo (IEC958)" and lower meter bar is moving. Pulse audio volume meter (playback) shows both meter bars moving. Still no sound!

Wolfman

Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:19:35 pm

Hi,

paste this command in a terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t) and try again:

Code:
sudo apt-get install libsox-fmt-all

Make sure "sox" gets installed too, if not:

Code:
sudo apt-get install sox

Did you use this command from the guide too?:

Code: