This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

usb driver problems

soma094

Mon Feb 23, 2015 3:55:34 pm

Hello Everyone! Im really new to linux and im having a problem with installing a driver for my usb ethernet adapter. Ive already downloaded the driver package for linux from the original website but i cant get it working. Could somebody help me?

Im running Zorin 9 and this is the only OS on my computer.

Wolfman

Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:16:58 pm

Hi,

name and model of said hardware?. :D

soma094

Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:27:37 pm

Sorry :) so the name is Delock Adapter USB 2.0 > LAN 10/100 Mb/s http://www.delock.de/produkte/G_61147/merkmale.html this is also the link of the product.
and there is the link of the driver package http://www.delock.de/service/support/driver/61147.html :)

Stephanie

Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:11:30 pm

Hi soma094

Zorin 9 is Kernal 3.13.0

From Delock

Systemvoraussetzungen
• Windows XP/Vista/7/8/8.1, Mac 10.5, 10.6, Linux Kernel 2.6
• PC oder Notebook mit einem freien USB Port

The driver you linked to is from the year 2008

soma094

Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:26:41 pm

yeah i thought thats gonna be the problem :) thanks anyway i ll keep on searching.

Wolfman

Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:27:34 pm

JUST TO POINT OUT THAT THIS WILL ONLY NORMALLY WORK WITH A USB DONGLE AND NOT A NETWORK ADAPTER BUT IT IS WORTH A TRY!.

Hi,

go here http://www.delock.com/produkte/F_929_Et ... eiber.html and download the file that states "Windows.zip", go to your downloads folder and right click the file and then on "Extract here" or pick a path where it can be safely unpacked (extracted). You will then have a folder called "Windows", open the folder and you will now see 2 folders, one is 32 bit, the other is 64 bit.