This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(RESOLVED) Basic info on kdenlive

ThetaBeast

Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:04:17 am

Well I just need to take a small segment from a DVD and see if I can put it on my brother's Android tablet. He is developmentally disabled and he LOVES a certain clip from a music video. I want him to be able to just click the icon and play it. I bet the segment is less than 3 minutes. So I put kdenlive 0.9.6-5ubuntu1 on my old rig that has Zorin Lite on it, and I can't do a darned thing. I have no experience with video. I get a message 'your clip does not match current project profile. No existing profile found to match the clip's properties. Clip size 720 x 480. fps: 20'. Even if I go Project>Adjust Profile to Clip I can't get anywhere, I guess because 720 x 480 isn't on the pull-down list in Profile. I assume I create a new project, find the VOB segment that I want and add it in the project tree, and then play it in the clip monitor. With setting at HD 720p, the best I can get to play in the clip monitor is a very blurry, barely recognizable clip. I'm not even at the rendering stage yet. What am I missing? What mode is a standard DVD? 720? 1080? Is there something special I need to do to use the VOB file? I tried openshot and it totally hangs, can't do a thing. I can try better hardware but not until next weekend,

TB

Wolfman

Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:09:29 pm

Hi TB,

use VLC to play such clips, kdenlive thinks you are trying to start/work on a video project!. :D

Swarfendor437

Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:53:58 pm