This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Newbie Questions

krbmedia

Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:17:46 pm

I'm a newbie to Linux, but I am in IT for Windows and Mac. I'm looking for an OS alternative for all the clients I have with Windows XP machines that are not upgradeable to Windows 7 or higher. Starting to get the hang of it but have some questions:

1) Sometimes when I download a .deb package, I get a message about a newer version available in the SOFTWARE CHANNEL but have no idea where to find that. I've done searched in SOFTWARE CENTER to no avail. An example is the Chrome browser.

2) Wifi continues to be a deal breaker with Linux. I have the following two laptops:

http://support.hp.com/us-en/product/Com ... el/3245649

http://support.hp.com/us-en/product/HP- ... us&lang=en

Both come with Broadcom Wifi and on/off switches for it. I've gone to ADDITIONAL DRIVERS and installed and activated it but still not showing up when I click on the network icon, tried downloading the .deb fil to no available and even tried using the WINDOWS DRIVERS to no avail. What am I missing or doing wrong?

krbmedia

Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:35:16 pm

I have a lot of clients that have Windows XP machines that need to be upgraded, but can't be upgraded to Windows 7 or higher due to their specs. As a windows and mac tech, I would love to help them out with Linux and chose Zorin due to it's supposed more easier way to use Linux but I have two main issues.

1) Wifi continues to be a deal breaker with Linux. I have these two laptops

http://support.hp.com/us-en/product/HP- ... us&lang=en

http://support.hp.com/us-en/product/Com ... el/3245649