This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[RESOLVED] Selected text in AbiWord is impossible to read

fayanora

Sun Jul 19, 2015 12:54:09 am

For some reason, no matter what color scheme I go with, no matter what theme, AbiWord selects text in black, with black text, and so it is impossible to read when selected. What, if anything, can I do? I am a newbie, not great with computers but above average. Not new to Linux, just Zorin, but my Ubuntu experience doesn't really count for much as I had to look up how to do a lot of things and I don't remember any of it except the importance of triple-checking you're following directions right.

I am using Zorin OS 9 lite, it's been updated. The computer is a Lenovo Ideapad S10, dual boots Zorin and Windows XP. I haven't tried AbiWord in Windows 2000 mode, just in Mac mode. Selected text is only messed up in AbiWord, not in any other program I have tried.

Swarfendor437

Sun Jul 19, 2015 12:45:33 pm

Well I don't have lite running except in VM on another hard drive in this PC - have you tried installing Kingsoft Office at all?

http://kdl.cc.ksosoft.com/wps-community ... 1_i386.deb

For ease of installation I woud install gdebi package manager - open a terminal and enter:

Code:
sudo apt-get install gdebi

Once you have installed gdebi, launch it then click on 'File' and direct it to the .deb package of Kingsoft Office - see if that is any better - it could be a graphics card issue but await for someone else to advise.

Have you done a full update as per Wolfman's excellent post-install guide for Lite?

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4835

Keep us posted! :D

fayanora

Sun Jul 19, 2015 7:58:19 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:Well I don't have lite running except in VM on another hard drive in this PC - have you tried installing Kingsoft Office at all?