This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Considering the switch....(from windows)

Rickkins

Mon Aug 10, 2015 9:05:51 pm

I don't know much about linux, but I have read a bit.

As I see it, for a guy like me the two obvious choices are Zorin and/or Mint.
I'm kinda hoping for an unbiased opinion.

Which one would be best, for me.
Now, although I'm a complete linux noob, I do know my way around a pc, and indeed friends and family bring me their boxes when trouble strikes. So I do have that.(for whatever that's worth)

At this point in life, I use my computer for browsing the internet, some accounting, and it doubles as a htpc.

I'm just tired of devoting so much time trying to make windows work. I want something that just works. I get that there will be a learning curve, no matter what, just so long as none of my hardware is incompatible...

Thanks......

Here are my system specs:

Operating System
64-bit
CPU
AMD FX-8350 23 °C
Vishera 32nm Technology
RAM
16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 937MHz (10-11-10-30)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. 990FXA-UD3 (CPU 1) 34 °C
Graphics
LG TV (1920x1080@60Hz)
PX2710MW (1920x1080@60Hz)
2048MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 6570 (ATI AIB) 57 °C
Storage
1863GB Seagate ST2000DL003-9VT166 ATA Device (SATA) 32 °C
1863GB Western Digital WDC WD2003FZEX-00Z4SA0 (SATA) 44 °C
1863GB Seagate ST32000542AS (SATA) 30 °C
1863GB Seagate ST2000DL003-9VT166 (SATA) 28 °C
1863GB Seagate ST32000542AS (SATA) 31 °C
3726GB Seagate Backup+ Desk SCSI Disk Device (USB (SATA)) 31 °C
Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST BD-RE WH10LS30 ATA Device
Audio
Creative X-Fi Audio Processor (WDM)

Printer: Canon mx710 <- must work.
Galaxy S5 <- must be able to read.

Swarfendor437

Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:10:37 pm