This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[RESOLVED] Old Lucid Lynx to new Zorin OS10 RC

DGLauren

Sun Aug 23, 2015 12:51:24 am

Hi. I'm grateful to find this forum and want to thank you in advance for any help you can give me. I am brand new to Linux and so far, love it, but I'm running into problems with my second machine/installation. I had no problem installing Zorin OS 10 (RC) on my first Windows XP machine, but for some reason couldn't get this second attempt to boot into Zorin. Next, I tried an old Live CD of Lucid Lynx 10.04 which I had used a couple of years ago to save data on another corrupted Windows based PC and Lynx installed with no problem. However, that version is no longer supported and I'd rather go with Zorin anyway.

The machine now seems to be locked into Lucid Lynx. It doesn't recognize the Live CD I made when I set up the other XP machine. Is there a way I can go to the CD drive from within a different distro (Lynx) and install Zorin from there. Also, please forgive me because I don't even know they correct questions to ask. Please let me know what else I need to provide you with, so you'll be able to help me. (The Live CD of Zorin OS 10 - RC was created with BurnAware.)

This machine:
Dell Dimension 3000 desktop
160 GB Seagate harddrive
32 bit

My first Zorin installation was on:
Dell Opti-Plex - GX280
40GB WD harddrive
32 bit

Swarfendor437

Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:13:46 am

Hi, As it is a Dell press F12 to go to one-time boot option and select your CD drive - I would personally stick with Zorin 9 as it is supported til April 2019 - 10 expires January 2016. ;)

DGLauren

Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:53:18 pm