This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Panel Taskbar - Multiple Options possible?

WinRiddance2

Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:42:02 am

Hi everyone.

I've been using Linux full time since 2009 after first using Windoze for the 18 years prior to that. I'm a huge fan of Gnome2 which is why I later switched to the XFCE desktop since I really didn't care for Gnome3, Unity, or Cinnamon. Zorin has me blown away! I can't believe how friggen' fast everything is, even Firefox is faster than on my Mint 17.2 XFCE setup ... about as fast as Maxthon Cloud. Sorry, getting off topic here ...

Anyway, my question is this. Is it possible to have more than one Zorin panel installed? I prefer to keep notifications and application symbols one one panel, with the "Zorin button" plus any additional buttons for open apps that I'm working with on the second panel. When I work with Gimp for example, sometimes I'll have as many as 35 - 40 images open all at once. For that it's nice to have as much panel real estate as possible. So a second panel would be perfect for me, but I haven't been able to find anything in any of the preferences so far ...
Thanks. (more posts with questions coming) ;)

Wolfman

Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:52:19 am

Hi and welcome,

you have one choice really, install "Docky" and add what you want/need to that!.

Install via a terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t):

Code:
sudo apt-get install docky

In Zorin 9, you can add (I think?) another panel but there is no option for that in Z10!. :D

WinRiddance2

Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:17:02 am