This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) Previously functional Live DVD stopped working

caruby69

Fri Sep 18, 2015 3:07:55 pm

Hello everyone,

I am new to Linux and trying Zorin after a brief stint with Mint. This is my first time posting here, so a warm hello to you all.

Having successfully used the Live DVD I created after downloading the 64bit Core iso file via this site, I can say I *really* like Zorin and was thinking of definitely installing it on my Toshiba C50-B14D laptop, some details of which are below:
CPU: Intel Celeron N2830 2.1Ghz x64 i686
RAM: 2GB
Graphics: GMA 3150
Current OS: Windows 8.1 (and yes I am eager to leave it behind, or at least dual boot, having reverted to it from the incredibly invasive and domineering Windows 10).
Fast Boot: Off
Secure Boot: Off
Bios Boot Order: ODD, USB, HDD, LAN
Optical Disc Drive: External USB drive (LG GE20 LU10)
Of note: USB worked for Mint 17.2, but not Zorian on my system)

My problem:
Having booted successfully several times from the Live DVD (, it is suddenly being totally ignored, as though I never changed the BIOS boot order. It goes from the Toshiba splash screen to Windows. Over and Over. No matter how many times I restart or power off or change USB sockets. Always Windows, suddenly).

Previous to this problem
, I accessed a couple of my photos in the Windows partition to see what the viewer was like. Could this have provoked some kind of response in which Zorian is shut out from the boot process? I didn't do it using sudo privileges of any kind, just the Live user account.

Are there any obvious solutions or crumbs which may lead me to one? I really hope to enjoy Zorian more in future as it is a very aesthetically pleasing distro.

Thank you in advance if you can help in any way.
C.

Swarfendor437