This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Adding a GTX 960 GPU to my homebuilt?

PNWDrew

Mon Nov 02, 2015 4:29:38 pm

Hi!

I've been using Zorin 10 for 6-7 months with no issues; it's been very stable. Thanks for the distro, it's now the only OS on 2 PCs in the house. If it wasn't for work requirements I'd rarely use any MS products. :mrgreen:

Specs: AMD A10-7850K on a Gigabyte F2A88XN-WIFI mobo, Samsung 120gb SSD. I am adding a EVGA GTX 960 GPU in a few days. Will the OS just recognize the new GPU and prompt me to choose between Nouveau and the closed Nvidia drivers? :?:

I've had issues installing graphics drivers in the past in other distros and wanted to minimize the risk, so any advice?

Drew

Swarfendor437

Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:01:42 am

I cannot say for certain one way or the other - some members have reported no issues - but if you want to play safe, backup your entire OS using redobackup:

http://www.redobackup.org

PNWDrew

Sat Nov 07, 2015 7:15:38 am

Update - The GPU is up and running with only a few issues.
1) I had a blank screen on 1st boot. Resolved by setting BIOS to UEFI and Legacy. This was an expected possibility.
2) After 2nd boot I had incorrect resolution, but I was able to enable the proprietary drivers and regained normal home. Oddly I was no longer able to resume from suspend unless I switched user first. That wasn't too bad but it led to issue #3
3) 3rd boot I was unable to log in. After accepting my password it would just prompt for it again. I dropped into terminal and googled on my tablet. That seems to be a common problem with Nvidia drivers and there are many "solutions". Being a noob I tried anything that seemed promising. Don't quote me but I think these were what got me past login (from terminal history):
Code:
sudo apt-get install nvidia-current-updates