Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Re: Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Postby Swarfendor437 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:55 pm

I had installed Zorin 10 alongside Windows 10 on a NON-UEFI BIOS!.

I used EasyBCD but another forum member stated he could not get this to work with Windows 10.

How I did my NON-UEFI BIOS!.

1. Used windows disk tools to shrink the Windows volume AFTER running 'chkdsk' and 'defrag'
2. Reran 'chkdsk' and 'defrag' (analysis) after resize.
3. Booted Zorin in Live mode.
4. Created an 'Extended Partition'
5. Created a '/boot' partition of 512 Mb formatted to 'ext4'.
6. Created a '/' (root) partition for the System - 30 Gb (30 x 1024 to get the correct size!) immediately after the '/boot' partition.
7. At the END of the 'Extended partition' create a 'swap area' of 4 Gb (4096)
8. What ever is left between '/' and 'swap area', create '/home' partition, formatted to 'ext4'

;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10180
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Postby DemoneGuardiano » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:12 pm

My laptop has 2 hard disk (Samsung Evo SSD ) 250 Gb each.

On first disk ( SDA1) there's Windows 10

On second disk (SDB1) there's Zorin 11 and the bootloader is installed on SDA1

On SDB1 I've create a EFI partition ( 1024Mb) , a EXT4 partition and a Swapfile partition ( 32Gb...double of RAM )

Actually there's no problem with the dual boot, all is working perfectly if I didn't modify the FSTAB file.

Next step could be perform a clone using Clonezilla and try to modify the fstab in order to map automatically my network resources from Synology NAS :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Image
User avatar
DemoneGuardiano
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:21 am
Location: Italy

Re: Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Postby Swarfendor437 » Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:46 pm

Feedback on install to a Samsung P530 Notebook with i3 processor (64-bit), 4 Gb RAM. Well the kit concerned is a work's machine no longer on the domain, turned into, mainly, offline work apart from applying necessary updates.
The 'main' flaw tends to be:

1. The battery meter - if on preferences, 'show time' [assume remaining] with icon, it disappears - if I select 'show percentage' - no issue.

2. Indicator 3 applet disappears if you attempt to add anything to that end of the AWN Panel e.g., weather applet, requiring a restart of the OS.

That said Zorin 11 has been a life-saver. The only Windows Movie Editor I can cope with is Windows Movie Maker 2.6 (for Vista). I managed to get hold of the last iteration but appears it will not save a movie file, no matter what settings I use and having saved the project file it just does not get any further - enter Zorin 11 ... and more precisely, KDEnlive. This has been a life saver having to prepare training videos at work for this week in view of Movie Maker going West. I normally would plump for OpenShot Video Editor but the .mov files imported looked like 'negative' images if you know what I mean with true colour of people around the edge of their features so that was ditched as the solution.

The other big surprise was attaching an iPad that had some videos on - at first Zorin 11 baulked at it - there was some error message - this is after I had selected 'Trust this device' option on the iPad (Can't stand the things - tablets never sit well with me - period - regardless of platform!). Now after a few seconds I got not only access to 'DCIM' as you can on a PC but I could access all documents created in Pages and Documents! Gobsmacked - great going Zorin Devs! ;) :D

Just to finally add, I have created a 'Kodi' shortcut on the desktop so that the deliverer of training at end of week can just go to Videos and open the tagged kdenlive folder to access the rendered files - superb! ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10180
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

No clock and volume control in taskbar

Postby dreamwarrior » Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:45 pm

HI i just installed Zorin 11 64bits,and in the task bar,there only appear one icon...the one of the language i use.There is no clock ,nor volume control ,no network connection and all the other things usually appear there....they appear if i restart the pc almost 10 times or even more..Tried even login out but still the same issue.I include o printscreen so you can see better what i mean....thanks

Image
User avatar
dreamwarrior
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:16 am

Re: Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Postby Auldyin » Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:47 pm

Hi dream

The taskbar fault has persisted on recent versions of Zorin over the last few years without a cure.

The quick fix is to - right click on an empty space on the taskbar - take the option to move the taskbar - top,left or right - move taskbar back to bottom - . :!: :!: :!: tarraa :!: :!: :!: should be fixed.

I find that if you goto language options and remove tick on show language on taskbar helps also.

Sorry I cant remember the exact text used on Zorin 11 as I haven't got it installed I'm still a happy Zorin 5.2 user.

Cheers Auldyin

:o ;) 8-) :? :D :D
The Radio Station http://www.dylanradio.com/
User avatar
Auldyin
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: No clock and volume control in taskbar

Postby Swarfendor437 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 7:21 pm

dreamwarrior wrote:HI i just installed Zorin 11 64bits,and in the task bar,there only appear one icon...the one of the language i use.There is no clock ,nor volume control ,no network connection and all the other things usually appear there....they appear if i restart the pc almost 10 times or even more..Tried even login out but still the same issue.I include o printscreen so you can see better what i mean....thanks.


Or for a complete change if things are getting you down:

1. Install Cairo-Dock DE:

download/file.php?id=3356&mode=view

2. Install Cinammon DE:

download/file.php?id=4402&mode=view

;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10180
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Postby dreamwarrior » Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:37 am

thank you both for the help,im using Zorin since Zorin 7,but never had that problem,but today before reading your posts,i installed cairo,which i love to use in other linuxes...there i set a clock and everything i missed from the taskbar,..thanks
User avatar
dreamwarrior
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:16 am

Re: Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Postby Swarfendor437 » Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:51 am

No worries friend! ;-)
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10180
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Postby blizzard » Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:28 pm

I installed Zorin OS 11 at the beginning of March.
Two issues I have come across:

1. Geary Mail crashes a lot. It shows no error message. It just closes/disappears. I have set up 2 email addresses in Geary, a gmail account and a custom one with a custom SSL certificate that I've accepted through Geary.

2. Not sure whether this is a bug or my lack of linux knowledge as I am fairly new to linux. I've launched a game developed for Windows. The game changed the resolution and exited with a failure. From that point on I was only able to see a small pirtion of the desktop and I wasn't able to do anything but power cycle the machine. On another occasion a different game (also Windows) entered full screen mode but the screen went black. It wasn't frozen, but the game did nit display anything. Again I wasn't able to do anytjing but to reset the computer. It would be nice to have something like in Windows (ctrl+alt+del or alt+esc) that lets you kill a process and get back to the previous state.
User avatar
blizzard
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 4:46 am

Re: Zorin OS 11 Feedback

Postby Quovadis » Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:01 am

Zorin looks very promissing.

But there are a few things I`m missing in the GUI mainly de scaling so it is more suitable for HD-screens, you can scale text but I miss the fact you can scale like the way you can do as in Windows.

When you want to scale to lets say 125% then everything is scaled up to the percentage but in Zorin you have to scale everything seperately or only the text of the applications are scalable and not that part where you can see:

-Documents
-Pictures
-videos
-Music

And more, hopefully the developers will take this in consideration with the developing and improving the GUI.
User avatar
Quovadis
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:59 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest