[SOLVED] Z11 - System Monitor Applet needs to be reset

[SOLVED] Z11 - System Monitor Applet needs to be reset

Postby atari800 » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:42 pm

I added the system monitor applet to the taskbar. I found the info to be good but a little too big, so I shrunk some components. Things starts to shift in the window, so I tried the MOVE option which made it worse. Now everything is overlapped

How can I reset this back to the default layout? I cant seem to locate the settings anywhere
Last edited by atari800 on Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
atari800
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Z11 - System Monitor Applet needs to be reset

Postby Swarfendor437 » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:36 pm

Hi, can you right-click the system monitor applet and select 'unpin launcher'? TRY that first. Keep us posted.
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10188
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Z11 - System Monitor Applet needs to be reset

Postby atari800 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:03 pm

If I right click on the applet, I get:
Dock Preferences
Icon Foreground
Icon Background
Icon Text
About AWN System Monitor

*no unpin launcher
User avatar
atari800
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Z11 - System Monitor Applet needs to be reset

Postby Swarfendor437 » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:27 am

OK, I would start over by removing system-monitor via the terminal:

Code: Select all
sumo apt-get purge gnome-system-monitor


then do a system update:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update

Next reboot machine and reinstall gnome-system-monitor.
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10188
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Z11 - System Monitor Applet needs to be reset

Postby atari800 » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:40 pm

I removed/updated/installed gnome-system-monitor
However the layout is still all jumbled overlaying on top of each other

Would the settings be located somewhere in .config?
User avatar
atari800
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Z11 - System Monitor Applet needs to be reset

Postby Swarfendor437 » Fri Aug 05, 2016 3:23 pm

OK, try the advice here and let us know what happens:

https://linuxfud.wordpress.com/2007/02/ ... nstalling/
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10188
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Z11 - System Monitor Applet needs to be reset

Postby atari800 » Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:40 pm

That seemed to have fixed it

Code: Select all
rm -rf .gnome .gnome2 .gconf .gconfd .metacity
logout
login


Thank you
User avatar
atari800
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:24 pm

Return to Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests