Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby mdiemer » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:35 pm

Update problem solved. I had gotten a pop-up when trying to update, which said something was broken. It advised I disable third-party updates, and run <apt-get install -f>. I disabled proprietary drivers and restricted or copyrighted updates, then ran the command, which did a bunch of stuff. When it finished, I tried updating again and this time it worked. I needed to restart computer and now it's actually running better!
Gateway GT5656
Athlon 64 X2 6000+/3.0 GHz
Nvidia 6150SE mobo
6 GB RAM
GeForce 8400 GS
2 500GB HDD's
Antec 450 WATT PS
User avatar
mdiemer
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 12:02 am

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby MBMz10 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:58 am

Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta 64 bit
Not sure if it is an issue/bug but my software sources (main server) had 3 x 'Recommended updates' and 3 x 'Source code' below in "Other Software" tab.

Edit:
Just scrolled down and same for 'Important security updates'.
Linux eXspert: Where "X" is the unknown and "spert" is a drip under pressure.
User avatar
MBMz10
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 12:14 pm

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby rainfactor » Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:05 pm

Hi

I have installed it but when rebooting i got a grub screen, I guess it got confused and didn't install

Anyone had this and how can i boot it normally?

Thank you
User avatar
rainfactor
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:03 pm

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby Swarfendor437 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:40 pm

MBMz10 wrote:Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta 64 bit
Not sure if it is an issue/bug but my software sources (main server) had 3 x 'Recommended updates' and 3 x 'Source code' below in "Other Software" tab.

Edit:
Just scrolled down and same for 'Important security updates'.


I'm pretty sure I've seen this in Core/Ultimate before and think it might be an Ubuntu bug with that part of the system. Rightly or wrongly in the past I have deleted the ones below the first instance but will check further so don't do anything yet
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10467
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby Swarfendor437 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:42 pm

rainfactor wrote:Hi

I have installed it but when rebooting i got a grub screen, I guess it got confused and didn't install

Anyone had this and how can i boot it normally?

Thank you


Hi can you please repost in the Installation section of the forum as this thread is for feedback on the installed OS. Thanks.
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 10467
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby MBMz10 » Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:47 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:I'm pretty sure I've seen this in Core/Ultimate before and think it might be an Ubuntu bug with that part of the system. Rightly or wrongly in the past I have deleted the ones below the first instance but will check further so don't do anything yet


I already deleted them (bottom two) and sure I have seen same in the past with OS 9 10 11 also. Its a beta on my 'shed' PC and thats why I have a shed, to break stuff, I think that's what a shed is for...
Linux eXspert: Where "X" is the unknown and "spert" is a drip under pressure.
User avatar
MBMz10
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 12:14 pm

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby cpufixup » Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:15 pm

Feedback

The first thing I noticed was that the details section on the settings was gone. I would really like to have that if possible. The overall look is nice and very similar to the other versions of 12.1
it runs well with only 512MB of RAM. (32-bit)

Bug?
I tried to install adobe flash player from the official adobe site. When I clicked download, after selecting APT for deb/ubuntu, it asks what program I want to use. It only lists the software program. but when I use it, It says "oops, that didn't work"
I was able to install from tar.gz but wanted to point out the issue.

Keep up to great work guys, I appreciate all you do! :D
User avatar
cpufixup
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:05 pm

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby Hank Quinlan » Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:36 pm

Hello,
some feedback. I attempted to install OS 12 lite Beta on an ancient custom computer with no luck
- AMD Athlon XP @ 1.1ghz
- 1 gig ram
- Asus A7n8x2 motherboard

I tried install from optical drive, it stalled at the welcome screen "install Zorin OS 12 Lite, test memory, etc"

It just said, "no text" for all the F key options on the bottom of the screen.

I tried two different burns of the .iso file and checked the hash so i don't think that was the problem.

I was also successful with Lubuntu, puppylinux, and linuxlite on the same machine.

Anyways, not a complaint, just some feedback.

Keep up the good work. I use 12 core on my main laptop as my daily driver and really like it.

Thank You.
User avatar
Hank Quinlan
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:10 pm

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby SleepyD » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:11 am

Hi. I am loving Zorin OS 12 Lite beta. It is very stable. I think I like this better than the regular Zorin OS 12. Gnome 3 can be a little flaky. I haven't tried it in a while to see if the extensions hold in the Gnome desktop after switching back to it from a different version. I'm glad to hear you will be releasing an Education version of the Lite. I think I will get a pay version to install on a friend's sons PC. Keep up the great work.
User avatar
SleepyD
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:47 pm

Re: Zorin OS 12 Lite Beta Feedback

Postby SleepyD » Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:36 pm

I have one thing I would like to see in Zorin OS 12 Lite. Can you possibly add a favorites area to the menu? I miss that from the Whisker Menu. I just may have use the Whisker Menu. I really like what you have done though with the Zorin Menu Lite. :D
User avatar
SleepyD
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:47 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests