This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin 7 Lite for Home Server

protocol77

Sun Oct 06, 2013 3:19:18 pm

hi everyone i am a linux newb i have had over a decade experience with windows pc's but only just started looking deeper into linux it is something i have wanted to do for a while just needed a reason

now i have one i have a home server currently it is running Windows 8 Pro x64 as my home server OS and it works fine but i have always liked the idea of using Linux on a server it just seems right

so for the last couple weeks i have been testing every distro i can find trying to see which one i want to use

My latest is Zorin 7 Lite with the LXDE now i know you are not really supposed to use a GUI on a server but i am still learning so i need one for now i can always change if i feel like it later

i have a few tasks i want to do with this server and few pieces of software i need to run

Basically it will be a storage server and serve those files to a combination of Linux and Windows Machines and HTPC's running XBMC i also need to setup my Sabnzbd Usenet Software as well which i already know how to do

i need something sturdy and reliable as i basically want to unplug everything from it and sit it in a corner and let it run 24/7 for months on end one of the main reasons i am thinking of switching to linux is because i don't have to do constant reboots after updates and i also here linux systems can run for weeks, months or even years without issue as well as the issue of not having to worry about viruses