Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby nordurljosahvida » Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:29 am

Hi. Is it possible to upgrade directly from 12.4 to 15 like Ubuntu?

Thanks
User avatar
nordurljosahvida
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 11:03 am

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Swarfendor437 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:43 pm

No I'm afraid you can't as it is a totally different beast as it now also has flatpak as well as snap support. ;)
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby zabadabadoo » Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:17 pm

Looking forwards to whenever I replace 12.4 Core with 15 Core final release on my dual boot rig.
I assume I will need to format the / (root) directory that contained 12.4 system before installing 15, as it is a different OS and not an update to 12.
Will I also have to format the home directory because of different settings regime for Zorin OS 15?
i.e. effectively a fresh install on clean partitions.
User avatar
zabadabadoo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:20 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:09 am

Hi, just to be safe, open /home folder and press 'Ctrl+ H' to show hidden files if not shown - most of these will have a '.' in front of them and both . folders and files may hold different application information, such as bookmarks and Browser settings etc so that when you install Zorin afresh with 15 you can then put these settings back in place. The devs have finally listened to me and now made Firefox the default browser. Geary is now gone (huzzah!) but replaced with Evolution as they are aiming for the corporate market - can be fiddly to configure but you can always install Thunderbird. ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby zabadabadoo » Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:19 pm

Just reading again. Questions remain:
Still not sure whether I must format /home partition as well as / (root) partition when installing Zorin 15 where I before had Zorin 12.4?

Does /home hold settings for the specific Zorin Operating System, as well as settings for Application Programs?
User avatar
zabadabadoo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:20 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Apr 21, 2019 9:41 pm

Primarily for apps and perhaps system specific applications. If you were to install Zorin 15 without doing anything it would potentially create a new /home which would ignore your existing one. I would advise you back up everything in /home, wipe your drive and start afresh using the manual installation method. ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby chrissi55 » Sat Apr 27, 2019 6:24 am

Hi to all,
i downloaded the BETA of ZOS 15 and i am very pleased about what i saw.
I'm happy about your change from chromium to firefox as default browser :-)

Now i'm backing up my homedir with "Déjà Dup – Datensicherungswerkzeug".
Déjà Dup – knows folders but no single files to backup.

In the upgrade guide you say that everything of the "old" 12.4 files (root, swap, etc) have to be deleted after a complete backup. But what about settings in e.g. /etc/fstab (nfs and samba mounts), and what about some settings i made in different subdirs (/opt /usr /var) ....

And another question is, can't it be made possible to backup a catalogue of my installed apps (like under linuxmint)
So called a backup of my Shop -> installed apps ??

Will a backup with "Déjà Dup – Datensicherungswerkzeug" be enough for reconstruction of homedir under ZOS 15 later (after the upgrade)?

Will i find Déjà Dup under ZOS 15 to write back my homedir to new /home?
User avatar
chrissi55
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:43 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Del369 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:10 am

Hi Swarf, long time no see :) another upgrade question, if we install 15 Beta will; we we be able to upgrade to the Release Candidate and Final Release when they come along, or will it be a scrub and replace job?
I'm no expert I tend to go on hunches and hail Mary's that sometimes go horribly wrong, so follow any advice of mine at your own risk :)

MSI Krait Gaming Z270 Mobo, I5, 32Gb DDR4, NVidia GEForce GTX 1060 6GB.
User avatar
Del369
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 3:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Swarfendor437 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:03 am

chrissi55 wrote:Hi to all,
i downloaded the BETA of ZOS 15 and i am very pleased about what i saw.
I'm happy about your change from chromium to firefox as default browser :-)

Now i'm backing up my homedir with "Déjà Dup – Datensicherungswerkzeug".
Déjà Dup – knows folders but no single files to backup.

In the upgrade guide you say that everything of the "old" 12.4 files (root, swap, etc) have to be deleted after a complete backup. But what about settings in e.g. /etc/fstab (nfs and samba mounts), and what about some settings i made in different subdirs (/opt /usr /var) ....

And another question is, can't it be made possible to backup a catalogue of my installed apps (like under linuxmint)
So called a backup of my Shop -> installed apps ??

Will a backup with "Déjà Dup – Datensicherungswerkzeug" be enough for reconstruction of homedir under ZOS 15 later (after the upgrade)?

Will i find Déjà Dup under ZOS 15 to write back my homedir to new /home?


Whilst I don't think you can specify directories etc., play safe and use redobackup from sourceforge to back your entire system up in case you become unhappy with 15.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/redobackup/files/
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Upgrading to Zorin OS 15

Postby Swarfendor437 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:07 am

Del369 wrote:Hi Swarf, long time no see :) another upgrade question, if we install 15 Beta will; we we be able to upgrade to the Release Candidate and Final Release when they come along, or will it be a scrub and replace job?


viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14324&p=63388&hilit=feedback#p63388

specifically the line that reads:

- If you have the Zorin OS 15 Beta installed, running the Software Updater as soon as the stable version is released will upgrade you to the stable Core edition of Zorin OS 15
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm
Next

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests