This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

32Bit UEFI/64BitCPU: Grub w. Zorin Installation and more

Katta

Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:02:33 pm

Concerns: Zorin Lite Ultimate

Hey everyone,

As a Linux newbie, I have and had several problems installing Zorin Ultimate Lite. Some I could already resolve, but right now I am stuck as during the install process the Grub installation fails.
Zorin is intended to be the only OS on the system (no parallel windows).

To start with some questions before I go into the details:
1. Is it possible to download a complete 32Bit Grub install version and install it from a USB stick via the use of the live 64Bit (!) Zorin OS? (USB stick installation is necessary as the machine can not access the internet...) If yes - what would be the exact steps or commands? That would be the best option I could see...

2. Alternatively, any ideas where to get the files that the below-mentioned error messages under 2. that appear while booting refer to ?

3. If someone could check my partitioning settings under 3. to see if they are alright for Grub?

To give the whole text below a certain structure in this documentation, I will divide it into steps 1-4:
1. My System

It's an exotic iRulu W1101 and is a bit special:[/b]

- 32 Bit UEFI
- 64 Bit Processor (Intel Atom Z3735F @ 1,33 GHz, x64 based)
- UEFI version: InsydeH2O Version Walk.WI102.JEBNECA02
- 2GB Ram
- 29GB free disk space on a main disk that is identified as „MMC NCard“ by the Zorin install routine
- Pre-Installed was a 32 Bit Windows 10 Home
- Zorin-Installation from USB drive as single OS (no parallel Windows intended)

2. It does boot, but with Grub-related errors...
One Major problem seems to be the destination pc’s rarer combination of 32 Bit UEFI with 64 Bit Processor (Intel Atom Z3735F @ 1,33 GHz, x64 based).