This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[CLOSED] First time LINUX Installation problem.

iwestbury

Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:48:53 pm

Hi All.

This is my first time attempting to install Linux and unfortunately it is failing. I have trawled the forums and Google and I don't know where else to look. If this has already been resolved I apologize and would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction. It all started on a YouTube video where the installation was straightforward and looked so easy! I have downloaded and flashed the installation file onto two separate USB sticks. My system is as follows:

ASUS Laptop X553m
Intel Celeron 2.16GHz
4 GB RAM
Running (slowly) Win 10
Unallocated partition of 300GB created

In Windows Power Options, I turned off the Fast Boot option.

BIOS - Secure Boot disabled, CSM Enabled, Fast Boot disabled. Boot option set to USB drive. In the OS selected option I can only select either Windows 8.X or Windows 7. I've tried both. I was hoping for a UEFI option.

It boots into the Zorin menu. Power OFF option works fine. None of the others do? The screen goes black and a cursor appears in the top corner and stays like that. Resetting the system to previous config allows booting into Win 10 fine. Both USB drives do the same thing. Unfortunately the same thing happens when I try to install Ubuntu so it's either me or the system.

Reading a previous post, I tried adding 'no nomodeset' to the command lines. In the safe graphics option that actually booted to a ZORIN splash screen but hung there. That's the best I've got so far.

Any ideas gratefully accepted.

Swarfendor437

Sun Jul 28, 2019 1:46:06 pm