This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Noob trying to stay out of trouble

NetWorthy

Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:18:23 pm

As the title indicates, I'm a noob in Linux land but I'm determined to be emancipated from M$! I have a Win 7 notebook and installed Z15.0 Ulti Full as dual-boot to evaluate that system. Then I decided to take a peek at Z15.1 Ulti Lite. I intended to install Lite over the Full, but ended up with 3 OS's on the boot screen: Win 7, Z15.0 Ulti and Z15.1 Ulti Lite. Head scratcher for me but OK for evaluation.

So I've finally decided to go with Z15.1 Ulti Full for my final production system but retain Win 7 for a couple of proprietary apps.

EDIT/UPDATE: I'd prefer to do a clean install of the Z15.1 Ulti Full rather than use the terminal commands to update the Z15.0 in place. I've done a lot of playing around (and probably messing a few things up) on the Z15.0 and just want to start anew with Z15.1..

PLEASE can somebody tell me (or give a link) how to do the install so I only get the original Win 7 and a newly installed Z15.1 Ulti Full? I assume I have to do something to scrub the previous two Z15 installs and consolidate the disk space. And do I have to do something to correct the boot selection menu?

ANY help will be appreciated - thanks!

Swarfendor437

Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:33:17 pm

It's late - will get back to you tomorrow - unless Aravisian beats me to it or one of the other well abled forum crew. ;) :D

mdiemer

Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:48:26 pm