This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin 15 instl problems

Alanalka

Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:20:04 pm

Hi,
I'm a newbie to Linux and thought I would try out Zorin but have encountered a couple of problems, which I'm hoping some kind people on this forum can give advice on. I am not a coder or developer etc and so have to look up every problem online and am not always sure of the terminology, though I do know how to open up a Terminal screen and can type in commands.
I have installed Zorin 15 Ultimate onto an HP Elitebook 8540p laptop, its probably around 10 years old and is in good condition with everything working well on it except the Windows 7 was way out of date.
I used balenaEtcher and a flash drive to install.
After a couple of attempts I managed to get the O/S onto the hard drive and booted up but have two problems.
1. The display is way out wack, the icons and screens and windows that pop up are way too large.
The original screen resolution is either 1600 x 900 or 1366 x 768, not sure which as I cant see the computer info anymore.
I think the O/S is displaying the resolution at something like 640 x 480 which is making it very difficult to see all the info on a pop up window.
I think I saw GNOME Display Editor flash up once or twice on a terminal window but I dont know how to get it to display to adjust the resolution.
2. It wont load the software.

Does anyone know the terminal commands or otherwise in order to fix these issues?
Any help would be much appreciated as I would hate to have to install MS Windows again.

Swarfendor437

Sun Mar 29, 2020 2:02:25 am