[CLOSED] NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby chacyung » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:02 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:If you intend to install a raft of applications other than those that come with Zorin, then you could make it 50 Gb if that would make you happier (50 x 1024 to get the precise allocation).

As for swap size, this should match the amount of physical RAM in your machine. ;) :D


OK, that should about do it.
Thanks for all the help, man, you're awesome!

I'll probably be back if I run into any problems or think of any more questions.
(I most likely will be back later, heh heh) ^^;
But in the mean time. I believe I'm good for now.

Again... Thank you so much, and... catch you on the flip side!
LOL
User avatar
chacyung
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby chacyung » Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:33 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:If you intend to install a raft of applications other than those that come with Zorin, then you could make it 50 Gb if that would make you happier (50 x 1024 to get the precise allocation).

As for swap size, this should match the amount of physical RAM in your machine. ;) :D


OK, I have a problem.
I'm getting ready to do a fresh Zorin install and it's not giving me an "extended partition" option. (only Primary and Logical)
And I'm not seeing "NTFS" in the formatting options list. Just fat32 and fat16

If it helps It says that the version I have is Zorin OS 12.2 (12)

EDIT: ok so if I can't make an extended partition in which to place the /home and swap file
sections... then I have to place the swap file section somewhere...
I still need 4 sections: 50GB MAIN, 16GB swap file, 534GB /home, 400GB /shared
and it still wants to know primary or logical...
So do I make them ALL primary? or just the first one? or all but the swap file? or all but the shared folder?
And should the swap file come after the 50GB MAIN? or should it still be after the /home but before the /shared

ARG! I'm so confused @_@
I'm sorry, please help me V_V
User avatar
chacyung
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:37 am

Hi, My advice to you is that there may be an issue with your Zorin iso OR a problem with your partition table. I would, if nothing else is on or going to be on there apart from Zorin, then download GParted as a separate disc/usb image from here:

https://gparted.org/

and delete everything on the drive show it is showing 'blank' - no partitions at all.

Having looked at my GParted all file systems are showing. I thought I had partitioned my Zorin Drive on last install but I think I let it do its own thing so I could see what it did. I have screwed my install by messing with Xfce and other DE's in an attempt to get login greeter to work so you will have to bear with me as I do a fresh install this weekend when I will take some shots with my phone. ;)
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB 3, AMD Phenom II x 6, 4 Gb RAM, nVidia Graphics GT620 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby chacyung » Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:30 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:Hi, My advice to you is that there may be an issue with your Zorin iso OR a problem with your partition table. I would, if nothing else is on or going to be on there apart from Zorin, then download GParted as a separate disc/usb image from here:

https://gparted.org/

and delete everything on the drive show it is showing 'blank' - no partitions at all.

Having looked at my GParted all file systems are showing. I thought I had partitioned my Zorin Drive on last install but I think I let it do its own thing so I could see what it did. I have screwed my install by messing with Xfce and other DE's in an attempt to get login greeter to work so you will have to bear with me as I do a fresh install this weekend when I will take some shots with my phone. ;)


I'll try gparted but in the meantime...
Do you think that having core vs ultimate have anything to do with it?
User avatar
chacyung
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby Swarfendor437 » Sun Apr 22, 2018 5:42 pm

No, that has nothing to do with it. OK, I have now just installed Zorin 12.3 Lite (Ultimate Edition). This has a different look and feel to the Core/Ultimate version in terms of the System Tray but the menu follows a Windows 7 like feel. Not checked out Appearance settings, but any how, if you boot either the Core or Lite version of Zorin you should get GParted included as standard (it gets removed after key installation files have been created from the install but remains on the live media). Here is how I went about creating what you are after exactly.

1. Back up any critical data before proceeding

2. Boot off the Live Media and don't run the installation bur run Gparted - just enter it in the search bar of the Windows 7 Menu.

3. If you have any partitions created at all, in particular 'linux-swap' or 'swap area' you have to turn off before you can delete it.

4. select any other partitions (if you have any in an extended partition then delete first, then selece delete extended partition

5. Deete the primary partition.

6. Select the green 'Tick' to apply all of the above to your hard drive.

7. Using the 'slider' left arrow - move to the right until you have 400 x 1024 (400 Gb) on the right of the partition editor - make this Primary and format to NTFS

8. In the Unallocated space to the left of the newly created NTFS partition, create a Primary Partition of 50 Gb and mark it as '/', formatted to 'ext 4'

9. In the unallocated space that is left create an 'Extended Partition'

10. Inside the Extended partition, move the arrow on the left to right until you have 4096 Mb (Or rather equal in size to whatever amount of physical RAM is present in your machine) and mark it as 'linux-swap'/'swap area'.

11. Whatever is left in front of tthe 'linux-swap' mark as '/home' and format to 'ext 4'

Now start the installer from the desktop and when you get to the option of installation, choose the something else method - you will need to 'change' both '/' and '/home' partitions by formatting once more and marked the same as '/' and '/home' respectively - then continue with the installation, making sure that:

A. you mark 'sda' as the place for GRUB', and

B. You have '/' highlighed when you click on 'Install now' button. :) :D

I managed to use Kazam Screencast in live mode on Zorin LIte 64-Bit ultimate which I will upload to my Vimeo channel in due course.

Here is my Lite desktop with the NTFS partition showing top left and open in main screen:

Screenshot_2018-04-22_17-38-35.jpg
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB 3, AMD Phenom II x 6, 4 Gb RAM, nVidia Graphics GT620 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby chacyung » Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:26 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:YOU BEING BRILLIANT !!!


OMG !
IT WORKED !!
Thank you so much !!!

All the partitions are setup like they should be, right down to the NTFS one.

Now I just have to get my windows builds on the network to see it again.
I'm guessing that I have to go back to samba, I'm I right?

Or is there an easier way.
Cause the windows PCs don't want to see the NTFS partition just yet.
Probably something to do with the fact that I haven't joined the workgroup.
User avatar
chacyung
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby Swarfendor437 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:36 pm

Yes that is correct - not sure if there is someway to ensure that the NTFS partition should be shared. Would be curious to know how Obmin works - Gnome Shell Extension.

https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/1254/obmin/ ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB 3, AMD Phenom II x 6, 4 Gb RAM, nVidia Graphics GT620 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby chacyung » Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:08 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:Yes that is correct - not sure if there is someway to ensure that the NTFS partition should be shared. Would be curious to know how Obmin works - Gnome Shell Extension.

https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/1254/obmin/ ;) :D


That does look interresting.
I have a few ideas that it could help me with, but unfortunately for this idea specifically...
I need something that'll work from startup without having to log in and start it manually.

Come to think of it, I never tested samba with regards to that either.

You see: My family likes to turn on my computer and dump stuff into my shared folder, while I'm at work.
And sence they don't know my password, I need a program that'll run in the background as soon as the computer is turned on (not logged in)

Can samba do that?
or would I have to keep it on all the time and just locked
User avatar
chacyung
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby Swarfendor437 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:34 pm

Take a look here - but not clear if you actually have to be logged in?:

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=887808
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB 3, AMD Phenom II x 6, 4 Gb RAM, nVidia Graphics GT620 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: NEW to Zorin OS (have questions)

Postby Swarfendor437 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:59 pm

OK, so I installed obmin on my Zorin Lite xfce 64-bit desktop last night and had temporary success. I followed the instructions but cheated by maintaining the Port instead of changing the one shown on the router (you will need a router that supports port forwarding) and I managed to access the data share on my smart phone. Then adding it to the startup list I wanted to see if just booting to the login would work - no, and I could not get the connection again. Firefox on first visit to the IP address assigned to the Desktop Share warned it of being unsafe, but I proceeded anyway, and there in front of me was the Data share folder - I didn't go into it (nothing there) I was attempting to see if I could share anything the other way. Will take another look when I can. ;) :D
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB 3, AMD Phenom II x 6, 4 Gb RAM, nVidia Graphics GT620 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests