mounting network drives

mounting network drives

Postby cheetah » Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:55 pm

Hello all,

I bought Zorin OS the ultimate edition and i love it, :D the only thing is i know how to mount the network drives through the mnt folder using samba but is there a way to take the folders i mount in mnt folder in the files system and make them appear when you click on computer with out mounting the drive every time the pc re-starts? i don't care if i don't have a desktop icon for the folder like you get when mounting a network folder since i like to keep the desktop with as little icons as i can.

thanks for your help and reading my post
Cheetah 8-)
Last edited by cheetah on Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
cheetah
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:34 pm

Re: mounting network drives

Postby Wolfman » Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:08 am

Maybe this is what you are after:

http://opensuse.swerdna.org/susesambacifs.html

Please don't write in red, it is blinding and should only be used to highlight something, thanks!!.

Regards Wolfman:)
Regards Wolfman :D

Kindness is something the blind can see and the deaf can hear :)

Preparation and planning prevent poor performance! :)

Free Ubuntu User Manual: https://ubuntu-manual.org/
User avatar
Wolfman
 
Posts: 7611
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:03 pm

Re: mounting network drives

Postby cheetah » Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:04 pm

Code: Select all
#you need to instsll smbfs
sudo apt-get install smbfs

#need to make the directory
sudo mkdir /mnt/<folder>

#edit the fstab at the end add a line like
sudo gedit /etc/fstab

#mount <folder>
//<server>/<folder> /mnt/<folder>/ cifs  guest,uid=1000,iocharset=utf8,codepage=unicode,unicode  0  0

#then run the comand
sudo mount -a


this is what I use to mount network drives and i knowin ubuntu I can go into the files and make a book mark to it or in zorin I can drag the folder to the side bar and have it show under personal but I was wondering if there was a way to also move it under computer like the cd/dvd drive, floppy drive, or file system is located like you can under windows where mounting a network drive appears under my cmputer. the reason i ask is because we are trying to move people from windows xp to zorin and trying to make the move as seemless as possible.
User avatar
cheetah
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:34 pm

Return to Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests