This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Nwbie needs some help with zorin 5

carlynn

Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:55:59 pm

If anyone has any suggestions for the problems I am having I would greatly appreciate it. I am new to Linux and want to get away from Windows.

First when I am typing the letters, there is a long delay before you see the letters. I checked the mouse and keyboard settings and can not see what I could change. It really bothers me to type as I am a fairly fast typist and when you can not see the letters appearing it is hard to use. I am typing this on Windows 7 mail and I do not have that problem here.

The second thing is I have it set to look like Windows 7. When you go to Windows 7 in the start menu and right click on send to desktop shortcut you get an icon that looks like the program with an curved arrow on it that you are sending to the desktop.

On zorin you get to choose send to desktop and you see the icon on the desktop but no curved arrow. If you pick send to desktop shortcut you just get a little piece of white paper with the bottom corner turned up on the desktop.

Now I am not sure if it is good to send the program there because that looks like what you would be doing when it does not say shortcut, but it is nice to have the icon for the program on the desktop instead of the white piece of paper, it does say what program it is on the white paper.

Hope I have described this so it is not to hard to understand.

carlynn

Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:19:54 am

Thank you for the help. My machine is a Compaq presario desktop SR 5010NX. I put Zorin on this machine first to see how I was going to like it before putting it on my new machine. I have run in to the typing thing before but it always went away and I never knew why it was doing that.