This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

i have java but some programs cant find it

davidlkay86

Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:25:52 pm

hey im a newb to linux, a windows kid growing up i hadnt any idea of the wonders of a linux os, sure the kids in my old computer classes used to swear by it back around the time red hat first came out. but i assumed it to be to difficult or confusing (didnt no about the difference between ease of use and user friendly). i descovered zorin while looking for a live cd to open up a laptop which wouldnt get past the bootscreen. i didnt know there were so many distro's out there, i didnt even know what a distro was. zorin just happened to be the first one i saw with a great review i am running zorin 3.1.1 32 bit on a toshiba satellite with a pentium t3400 2.16 ghz and 2 gib ram. i downloaded dexterwire and installed it through wine, the installation went fine but when i tried running the program a box pops up saying java was not found on your computer, would you like to download it? with ok or cancel . and the process is then killed when i click cancel and clicking ok brings me to the java website. it took me a while to realize that i already had java on my device, after downloading and trying to install java from several sources. there are a few other programs like that i was unable to install and have work correctly on zorin like cubase sx 3 and avs video converter, some programs have bad glitches or freeze up while others simply wont open. sometimes i install a program and then cant figure out which file in that programs folder is the one that runs the program i know that trying to use programs meant for windows can be difficult to do with linux but if there's any tips you might have i would love to hear them. i have more issues but will post under a different subject