booting up

booting up

Postby nuacht » Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:34 pm

hello my system wont boot up i am using lenovo 110s
when i try to boot it says usb 1-2 device descriptor read/64 error110- and then after a few minutes it changes to a blue z logo with a black background ?
what should i do ?
User avatar
nuacht
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: booting up

Postby Swarfendor437 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:30 pm

"USB error -110 means power exceeded, the host could not provide enough electric power for the pendrive to operate. Because it has not enough power also the USB stick cannot provide the device descriptor to the host, as a result it cannot be identified and so on. Maybe your motherboard it's overloaded with devices that consume all the available pwoer."

from: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/136 ... -error-110
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9865
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: booting up

Postby nuacht » Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:15 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:"USB error -110 means power exceeded, the host could not provide enough electric power for the pendrive to operate. Because it has not enough power also the USB stick cannot provide the device descriptor to the host, as a result it cannot be identified and so on. Maybe your motherboard it's overloaded with devices that consume all the available pwoer."

from: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/136 ... -error-110

this is the only usb device that i am using ? should i leave my lenovo charging for a few hours until it has been on full battery for a good while before trying it ?
User avatar
nuacht
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: booting up

Postby zorinantwerp » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:45 pm

I would try following:
do not power down but take out your battery to shock the motherboard
leave the laptop alone for 10 minutes
use your power cord
disconnect all external devices
you have usb 2.0 and 3.0 on yr machine. try both

+++
We have a be nice policy.
Please be positive and constructive.
I am a volunteer and I do not work for, nor do I represent, Zorin Group.
User avatar
zorinantwerp
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: booting up

Postby nuacht » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:50 pm

zorinantwerp wrote:I would try following:
do not power down but take out your battery to shock the motherboard
leave the laptop alone for 10 minutes
use your power cord
disconnect all external devices
you have usb 2.0 and 3.0 on yr machine. try both

+++

i only have one usb i am not sure but i think it is 3.0 ? could i use an sd card ?
i will try unpluging now and get back to you
User avatar
nuacht
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: booting up

Postby Swarfendor437 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:32 pm

I don't know the state of your battery, but even so, just like an update, you should have your notebook powered on during install as power failure could bork the installation. If you have USB 3.0 the 'tab/spade' in the machine will be coloured blue. Having looked at the potential specs of your ideapad does it have an SSD or an inferior 32 Gb eMMC storage?
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9865
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: booting up

Postby nuacht » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:55 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:I don't know the state of your battery, but even so, just like an update, you should have your notebook powered on during install as power failure could bork the installation. If you have USB 3.0 the 'tab/spade' in the machine will be coloured blue. Having looked at the potential specs of your ideapad does it have an SSD or an inferior 32 Gb eMMC storage?

updatei borrowed a freinds usb it worked i was able to use the os to which i then tried to install after, it removed the previous system it said it needed to restart , when i did this it said this
error: no such device
entering rescue mode
grub rescue> _

did i mess up somewhere ?
User avatar
nuacht
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: booting up

Postby Swarfendor437 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:24 pm

Hi, Just be advised that if you replaced Windows with a failed install you may not get it back - I was hoping for a reply to my last posting before you went ahead. Such devices are apparently WIMboot devices - if you removed the hidden partition at the start of the drive there will be no way of getting Winidows back. Can you get Zorin to boot in live mode? If you can, I would like you to start GParted to post a picture of your partitions.
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9865
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: booting up

Postby nuacht » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:47 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:Hi, Just be advised that if you replaced Windows with a failed install you may not get it back - I was hoping for a reply to my last posting before you went ahead. Such devices are apparently WIMboot devices - if you removed the hidden partition at the start of the drive there will be no way of getting Winidows back. Can you get Zorin to boot in live mode? If you can, I would like you to start GParted to post a picture of your partitions.

hello first of all my apologies i am not computer experienced . at the moment when i put my usb into my device it shows a menu for
try zorin without installing
install zorin
and a buch of other options but when i go to install zorin it works fine until it asks to restart and when i do it resets everything and never actually installs ? i am typing this from livesession at the moment. thanks for all of your help so far
User avatar
nuacht
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: booting up

Postby Swarfendor437 » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:05 pm

OK if you are in live mode:

1. in the search bar of the menu, enter 'GParted' - it should show up almost instantly. - Launch it.
2. Go to Menu | Accessories | Screenshot and take a picture of the GParted window, save it as a .jpg and post it here - to do that see my tutorial video here (which needs updating I know):

http://www.veoh.com/watch/v385833212XzmANbj
https://vimeo.com/user15592214
https://trisquel.info/
https://www.opendesktop.org/member/257685/

Machine: ASUS X470-PRO, AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8 Core, 16 Gb RAM, ZOTAC Geforce GT1030 (2 Gb)
User avatar
Swarfendor437
 
Posts: 9865
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:51 pm
Next

Return to Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests